AB Simpson on healing at the Holiness and Healing Bethshan Conference London 1885

AB Simpson, one of the pioneers of the early Pentecostal movement in the 1800s spoke at the 1885 Bethshan Conference on Holiness and Healing, London England, giving a fascinating insight about how he came to the revelation that healing is always God’s will, and God’s Word:

“After years of teaching from and waiting on Him, about four year ago, when broken down physically in every way, so that I had no strength for my work, the Lord Jesus Christ showed me that it was His blessed will to be my complete Saviour for body as well as soul; and with a heart that fainted at the slightest effort–almost caused my death when I tried to climb a little mountain in Europe a few years ago–having been laid
aside a dozen times from my work, I came to Him, and alone with Him I lifted my hand to heaven and made three solemn pledges:

The first was, that I solemnly believed that this Gospel of healing was truly God’s Word–I had to stand on the truth or I could not get the life;

the second was, I solemnly took it for myself as given to me, and believed it was mine and that I was now healed, and not only healed, but that I had the full strength of my risen Lord for the rest of my work for Him–I did not take Him merely for healing, but for the strength of life until He had done with me:

and the third thing
I believed was this–that He keeping all these pledges in me and for me, I should not refuse to use this truth for the help of others, if he needed it.”

God healed his heart so that he was able to climb a mountain the next day! Not only that, but he prayed for his daughter Margaret to be healed from diphtheria and she was. This same disease had killed his son Melville earlier.

Thank God for this lesser known Canadian preacher, and for the way He pressed in to leave such a lasting legacy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

